Our Trustees

The Archive is a registered charity and company limited by guarantee. The Board of Trustees bring a rich mix of expertise and strong governance structures that underpin the Archive.

Chair:  Clare Morrow 

The board is chaired by Clare Morrow, who brings more than 30 years of industry experience through her career in television journalism. Clare first encountered the Archive during her 15 years at ITV Yorkshire, where she was Controller of ITV News and Programmes, and so brings first-hand knowledge of the ITV regional collections that the Archive now cares for. Clare was Executive Producer of the popular ‘The Way We Were’ series, based on the stories behind some of the Archive’s most treasured amateur film collections. Initially scheduled to run as a three programme pilot, ‘The Way We Were’ series ran for more than four years, with over sixty programmes produced.
She is currently the non-executive Chair of Bettys and Taylors of Harrogate, and was previously Chair of Welcome to Yorkshire, a non executive director at the Rugby Football League, a non executive Director of the Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, and worked as Network Manager of the Broadcasting and Creative Industries Disability Network.

Penny Wilkinson

Until her retirement in 2016, Penny was Chief Executive of Northern Rock Foundation, an independent charity which aimed to tackle disadvantage and improve quality of life in the North East and Cumbria. Previously she was Chief Executive of Museums Libraries & Archives North East for three years, promoting innovation and best practice in museums, libraries and archives in the North East of England.

She was also Chair of the Trustees of Woodhorn Charitable Trust until recently, whose mission is to inspire, engage and connect people to Northumberland and its history by delivering heritage, arts and cultural education and outreach work to people throughout Northumberland and beyond.

Terence Suthers

Terry is a long-standing member of the Board, bringing his experience to the Archive after following a distinguished career in museums and the built heritage. As Director and Chief Executive, the Harewood House Trust won numerous awards for tourism, the arts and education. Previously he was Assistant Director and Head of Public Services at the Science Museum, London and prior to that Director of the Yorkshire Museum and Gardens in York.

He is currently Chair of the York Archaeological Trust and serves as a Trustee of the York Museums Trust, Thackray Medical Museum, Leeds and is a member of York Minster’s Fabric Advisory Committee.

Dale Grayson

Dale has 30 years experience working at senior management level in the television industry, specialising in Rights Management, Clip Sales and Archives, and working for both BBC and ITV. He now runs his own consultancy company, Northbound TV, and continues to chair the Royal Television Society’s Archive Group which champions the valuable work and role of television archives in the UK.

Michael Harvey

Curator and writer specialising on the history of photography, film and animation. He was formerly Curator of Cinematography at the National Media Museum, originating and curating hugely successful exhibitions including Magic Behind the Screen: 100 years of British Cinema, James Bond:Myths and Vision, Live by the Lens, Die by the Lens: Film Stars and Photographers (2008) and Drawings that Move: the Art of Joanna Quinn (2009).

In 2012, Michael’s work on researching and realising the first colour moving images, dating from 1901-2, from the original negatives by Edward Raymond Turner held in the National Science Museum collection attracted worldwide media attention.

Rob Hickey

As Chief Operating Officer, Rob is part of the York St John University Executive Board with operational responsibility for circa 200 staff across six major directorates. His remit spans University strategy, estates and commercial management, student recruitment, communications & marketing, IT and digital, and the Programme Management Office. He is currently driving the University’s 2026 Strategy including implementing a new digital strategy, introducing new STEM provision, establishing a London campus, creating additional income, streams and growing the University’s international offer.

Sally Joynson

Sally champions the film, TV and wider screen industries in Yorkshire & Humber. Since taking the role of Screen Yorkshire Chief Executive in 2006, Sally’s leadership has seen Yorkshire & Humber become one of the most sought-after destinations for production in the UK, delivering unprecedented growth for the region. She sits on several Advisory Boards including National Science and Media Museum, Digital Creativity Labs, and is a long standing member of the Archive Board.

Don Stewart

As Director of Economic Inclusion and later as Director of Strategy at the regional development agency, Yorkshire Forward, Don championed the Archive as a significant cultural asset for the region, pushing the organisation to develop a business-focussed approach alongside its more traditional charitable activities. He was central to supporting the merger with the North East Film Archive, and continues to advise on business and commercial development.

Graeme Thompson

Graeme is Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Sunderland responsible for external engagement (Connections and Place).

Graeme chairs the Royal Television Society’s Education Committee as well as the North East and Border Annual TV and Digital Awards. He is a Trustee at the Customs House in South Shields and is a member of the North East Cultural Partnership, where he chairs the International Group.  Born in South Shields, Graeme started his career as a Journalist working for newspapers and the BBC where he was a producer for Radio 4. He spent twenty years as an editor and executive director of ITV. He was managing director of ITV Tyne Tees until 2009 when he moved to take up the role of Dean of Arts Design and Media at the University of Sunderland.